the heat of youth

Heat is rising.  Yeah, man, and I am sweating.  It is hot.  God, calm down the heat.  I thank You for the heat, but come on, slow down the temperature. 

 Heat makes me think of people.  Don’t know why?  But does it really matter?  Changing topics is good as long as the new topic is interesting.  So anyways, people.  I love them.  But my favorite types of people are young people.  People my age and younger.  Well at least to about 13.  Before that, they are harder to love.  But easier to be cute.  I mean they need everything so it is harder to want to love them because all they want is things. 

Anyways, I love working with the youth of the world.  Being around kids who are looking for ways to experience life, kids looking for ways to have friends, people searching for love and truth.  I am learning that it is at this age that God moves the most in people.  Remember, Joseph in Genesis 37.  The Bible says that “Joseph, when seventeen years of age, was pasturing the flock with his brothers while he was still a youth, along with … Then Joseph had a dream” (Genesis 37:2,5).  He was young.  He was a youth.  God gave him a dream that changed his world forever.  Joseph went on to be sold into slavery by his brothers.  Potiphar’s wife got mad because he wouldn’t have sex with her and made Potiphar put him in jail.  While in jail, Joseph was the most faithful to God and God blessed that and eventually put to the point where he was the person right under Pharaoh.  Amazing stuff happened, but it started right here when he was a youth. 

Things happen crazily at this age.  If we don’t lead them to Christ, they could live without him forever. 

My prayer is to be used by God for this generation.  Personally, this means that I want to teach a generation to worship.  I want to bring thousands, millions to Christ but I am going to be content with God just using me for one or two.  I don’t care right now, I just want to be used by God for this generation.  Let me reach this generation, God.  Bring me to You so that I can bring them to You.  Amen. 

1 thought on “the heat of youth

Leave a comment