home videos

So today was filled with church services.  I led worship this morning at the Ridge.  Good stuff there.  Everyone was into in my opinion.  Then I went to Central Community Church.  I love the people there because a lot of them have been friends with me for a few years.  I have been able to see them in a long time so it was good to join in their worship service.  It is also good to be a part of a worship service where I don’t have to do anything.  

But the reason I am writing right now is to talk about the most random thing in the world:  Home videos.  I love them.  I love the fact that people make them.  I used to love America’s Funniest Home Video until Bob Saget left.  He made that show.  But anyways, I went to a party in Asheboro where this group of guys in high school have been making a series of videos called “Project Flameshirt.”  One of the guys has a ton of flame shirts.  Yep, shirts with flames on them.  Hard to find according to many.  Rare.  So the movie is a thriller, 24-type, drama extravaganza.  Pulse-pounding excitement.  The gist of the 6-part series is a group of guys who want to take all the flame shirts from the one guy.  It makes no sense at all. But joy is bestowed to the audience gathered inside a tiny room meant for 10 or 12 which is occupied by 50 to 60 people. 

It was packed.  Very packed.  It reminds me of the early church in Acts.  How they jammed in homes to hear about God.  To experience God together.  Being in a place that is overflowing is a sign of God to me.  It is a sign that He is big and that He can’t be contained by anything or anyone, or by any building. 

But that is the spiritual part of this.  What this party of home video/movie premiere reminded me of was making videos freshman year of college along the same lines.  We made a video that was about being ninjas caught inside of a room and all that we had to do was be the last one out.  We fought each other for hours just to get a 2 to 3 minute clip.  It was amazingly fun.  I will always remember those times and the bond that was made because of it.  I loved it.  Ninjas brought me friends. 

Home videos.  Yay!!!

Leave a Reply

