greatest hits: Saviour King – Hillsong United

So I am starting a new weekly adventure (if you will). I have been trying to figure out things that I can do on a blog to make me come to life through the web. On many blogs that I have read, I have seen people put their favorite movies of the year, or their top albums. But that is just not me. I get bored with movies because they keep copying each other and repeating previous sensations. Albums get old for me because they are too long. A.D.D. kicking in. So I thought: Hey, songs. I like songs. I stay focused through them, why not write about them? Where here we go, join the party.

Each week, I will discuss one song, or put the lyrics up, or say how much the song has been on my mind.

This week: “Saviour King” – Hillsong United

I love ambient music (music with sustained chords through a synthesizer or other various instruments). I love it. This song displays the ambient sounds very well. Amazing. It is a song that grips me and keeps me in the whole time. The lyrics are amazing but the sound of the chorus just sends me heart to an amazing place of worship. I love singing the song and hearing it. This is a song that has been on my mind ever since I heard it at the United concert at Virginia Beach a few weeks back.

Although the song is 12 minutes long, it brings me to a place of simple faith.

How come dynamics effect me so much? How come a crescendo that ripples through all the instruments will leave me tasting freedom and joy? I don’t know. I love how a crowd can join in with a band in a live setting. This is a thing that leaves me thinking of heaven and the massive throng of angels surrounding God.

Chorus:
“We love you Lord, we worship you
You are our God, you alone are good
You asked your Son to carry this
The heavy cross our weight of sin

I love you Lord, I worship you
Hope which was lost, now stands renewed
I give my life to honor this
The love of Christ, the Saviour King”

Hope which was lost, now stands renewed. That hits me. Hope in Christ gives me new life. You asked Your Son to carry this/the heavy cross, our weight of sin. Man that just sends me to my knees.

The second verse gives me a picture of what the church should be to God and to the world.

“Let now your church shine as the bride
That you saw in your heart as you offered up your life
Let now the lost be welcomed home
By the saved and redeemed those adopted as your own.”

This is just an amazing song and I can’t recommend it more highly.

7 thoughts on “greatest hits: Saviour King – Hillsong United

  1. hey!!! dat was d best hillsong lyrics yet. WOW!!!… huh, i jus wish i met u dudes n dudets, so dat i wud feel gr8t(rili)

    ps: neva frget d joy in ur heart n wen d joy is der always keep for it is d lords love for u!!!!

    see ya…

  2. hey there! i randomly found your site… looking for a hillsong united tab.. the one you speak of! 🙂 amazin isnt it?

    well… just wanted to encourage you to live for Him, open-heartedly and on your knees… seeking of His face and not only His hands!

    God bless

  3. “The lyrics are amazing but the sound of the chorus just sends me heart to an amazing place of worship.”

    ” How come a crescendo that ripples through all the instruments will leave me tasting freedom and joy? ”

    These quotes particularly hit me. Music is a powerful tool to share God with people who otherwise would never hear. Music can pull an emotion of love of God ,and for God, from hearts that thought they could never feel again.

    The sounds that lead your emotions and thoughts throughout the lyrical and instrumental journey of a song TRANSFORM the individual. This is one of the reasons why I feel strongly about having music in the church services here at home. It is a time where I can pour out my heart in a fluid and comforting/organized way to my God – breaking down all the barriers I build against the world week after week.

    Thank you for sharing. I may be downloading some of them too!

    God’s blessing you!
    sunshine

  4. This is my favorite verse in the song:

    Let now our hearts burn with a flame
    A fire consuming all
    For Your Son’s holy name
    And with the heavens we declare
    You are our King

    That’s just what I’ve been praying these days so that’s why it speaks to me…a fire consuming all!

Leave a Reply

