Sharing my life with others

Faith is being lifted up in my life.  I have been having a lot of difficult conversations lately and I feel as if God is taking me and a lot of other people on a journey to more accurately pursue Him.  It is amazing to me to see that other people are growing in their faith in God. 

I love being pushed to confess the hard things.  I tend to bottle things up and throw them out to sea.  But God is showing me how to open my heart and speak love in truth. 

One recent occurence that convicted me deeply was when a friend brought up that I am a social butterfly.  I tend to move around a lot to different people.  I mean I have a ton of close friends but sometimes people on the fringes of my life stay on the fringes because I never give them the time of day.  God is really opening up my eyes to this and I wish to be sharing my life with other people.  At bible study tonight, we talked about 1 Thessalonians 2 (recap to be given later on) and the verse that hit me the most was one I heard a long time ago from Dr. Bill Bennett, who is a huge mentor for hundreds, perhaps thousands, of men around the world.  He is a long-time pastor and long-time seminary professor at Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary.  I met him through the fellas at Daystar and one verse I remember him quoting a lot was 1 Thessalonians 2:8, “I love you so much that I am delighting to share with you not only the gospel of God, but my life as well.”  He was one of those people whom I would think Paul would be like.  Amazing man.  A heart truly on fire for God. 

But that verse speaks to me.  I want to give my life for others.  At other points, Paul talks about being willing to give up his salvation so others can gain Christ.  That is astounding to me.  I wish I had that kind of desire to serve others.  I wish I had that love. 

“I love you so much that I am delighted to share with you not only the gospel of God, but my life as well.”  – 1 Thes. 2:8 –

Father, I pray that I can come to a point of such relenting faith and love for others and for You, that I can’t help but serve with all that I am.  Bring me to a place of trusting You with all that I am.  Amen. 

One thought on “Sharing my life with others

  1. i really liked this!! specially the “I love being pushed to confess the hard things.”. .. ive been in that situation a lot often… but im not quite yet beginning to love it! :S haha it hurts but its good.

Leave a Reply

