Can the church be converted?

I have been listening to a lot of different sermons lately.  Some of the greatest pastors in the world have been speaking to my heart recently.  Francis Chan, Rob Bell, Erwin McManus, Chuck Swindoll, Andy Stanley, Don Miller, et cetera.  Thank you iTunes and podcasts.  Wonderful technology.  Many, many people who have a great connection with God, these people are.  These guys don’t get it wrong most of the time.  They speak God’s heart more clearly than most people I have heard.  These are people that others come to for advice like Will, in his blog titled “Words” on July 3rd, was talking about in his blog. 

Anyway, Rob Bell was talking about parachurch organizations and other similar agencies.  He asked the question, “Why do these groups exist?”  He answered his own question by saying, “They exist because the church didn’t do the job Jesus gave it to do.”  The church just ends up writing the checks for these groups and not doing any of the work.  He also says that when most people think about changing the world, they do not think of going to the church to do it. 

He also did a word association exercise:  Seminary student, do you think of a radical, revolutionary kid?  Church membership, do you think of revolution or boredom? 

Amazing.  I want to be a part of the change.  I want to be a radical.  I want to revolutionize the way the church exists in our culture.  I want to be a part of the difference.  In the words of Michael Jackson, “I am starting with the man in the mirror.  I’m asking him to change his ways and no message could have been clearer, if you wanna make the world a better place , take a look at yourself and then change.”  That is my heart.  Change me, God.  I can’t do anything for anyone else, if I’m not right. 

“Can the church be converted to the great causes of our day?” was a question posed to one of the leading frontiers of change in the culture.  A man who has been seeking to lead our country into love and hospitality.  This man is not a Christian, and he was asked this question by a fellow staff member of Rob Bell, “can the church be converted to the great causes of our day?”  This man answered no, because they only care about themselves.  Let’s prove him wrong but loving our neighbors and getting out of our comfort zone to serve.  Jesus came to serve; He called us to do the same. 

5 thoughts on “Can the church be converted?

  1. This blog goes well with Christina’s latest blog based on Isaiah 6. In that passage Isaiah comes into the presence of God. Any time someone in the Bible comes into the presence of God their immediate response is repentance and a desire to follow Him. Your admittance of a need to change yourself first reflects the fact that you have indeed been in the presence of God.
    By the way, it was great seeing you at the cookout tonight. I’m looking forward to you moving in with the Kekic’s.

  2. Thanks for this, J. I totally agree; if more churches did their job, more people would go, and in turn, we would see more lives being changed! I want us to be a church that gets it right. I know we’re headed in the right direction; let’s stay focused on what God has called us to do!

  3. hi, jason…

    i’ve live in greensboro [i go to uncg] and i’ve been looking for a church… heard about you and wonder where do you go?

    i’ve been out too long… NEED to get back in…

    thanks…

  4. Thank you for again turning me to God where I need to be focused now more than ever.

    I will surely look up these pastors and see what I can learn through them about so much.

    Thank you Bunch!
    ~sunshine

Leave a Reply

