preparation

Couple of days have passed since the last blog and I feel very different than I did then.  I mean life is getting ahead of me.  I am reaching out to and it seems to be just within my reach but I am not fully grasping it yet.  It is right in front of me but I can’t have it.  It reminds me of going to the candy store when I was five and seeing all the delicious treats on the displays but my dad would not give in to my charm and get me a piece.  He would just let me fuss and scream for what I wanted but he wouldn’t give it to me just because I was being selfish.  He wanted me to learn to be content. 

It is the same way in my life right now.  I have had thoughts recently of actually how much is going to change in my life because of the transition into Reedy Fork.  I thought about not getting to lead worship for college ministry as often as I would like.  I thought about not having the same relationships with my friends as I once had.  I mean, seriously, a lot is going to change out here for me.  But I thought about each of those things and I realized that all those things kept me comfortable, all those things kept me living life easy.  I mean there was no risk involved.  Everything was centered on starting something that I know would work.

But yesterday, through conversations, all throughout the day, I started to realize my true passion.  My true passion is not leading worship.  I mean I love it but God is showing me why I love it.  I love it because I get to worship Him, of course, but I also get to build relationships through music.  I get to lead people to a place of satisfaction.  Worship is not something that I am going to just be experiencing through music right now.  God is going to be teaching me how to live worship through my life because of the relationships that we are going to make out here.

 Well, here are some thoughts for me about the church:
It is very apparent to me that we need to learn to be more intentional with our neighbors.  We need to find ways that we can join in their lives.  This can happen through seeing someone mow the lawn at a specific time and every week we just go over and join in them mowing the lawn.  This could be that we take walks more often and make it our responsibility to try to start a conversation with each person that we see. 

We should pray about this community every chance that we get.  We, as a church, have a lot of work to do in order to reach this community.  A specific prayer could be to lift up each section of Reedy Fork and ask that God could raise up people on our core time that lives in each section.  That would be awesome. 

We should try to spend some time every possible chance that we get to think of ideas to better reach out to the community.  How can we creatively help people?  We have a great start so far with Ladties Night, Poker Night, Classic Movie Night, our regular Thursday night thing, but let’s think of things that everyone in the community needs.  Let’s try to fit what we do around the needs of our neighbor. 

All in all, God is doing some amazing things in my life because of the close-knit community that is developing around me. I know many of you are growing closer together as well as to God, but let’s start thinking and praying of ways to make these bigger for God’s glory.  Bigger meaning allowing others to be a part of this community.  We are not about numbers, but we are about getting as many people to come alive as possible. 

Father, I pray that we can rejoice in the fact that our names are recorded in heaven (Luke 10:20) and that we are just about to witness the harvest becoming more and more plentiful.  I pray that you give us strength and wisdom and strategies to help bring people alive to you and to relationships.  You are the one who deserves the glory and I pray that we will constantly be focused on how to better glorify you with our lives. All these in Jesus’ name. 

Last thing, good Scripture verse that God has laid on my heart recently:
“To this end also we pray for you always, that our God will count you worthy of your calling and fulfill every desire for goodness and the work of faith with power, so that the name of our Lord Jesus will be glorified in you, and you in him, according to the grace of our God and the Lord Jesus Christ.”  – 2 Thessalonians 1:11-12

One thought on “preparation

  1. Community has been something that has been on my heart lately. I just finished reading Irresistible Revolution. That book is simply amazing! God has really opened my eyes this summer about how to love on my community here in Asheville and I am excited about how I will be able to do the same in Greensboro. I love 1st Thessalonians 2:8 that says: “We loved you so much that we were delighted to share with you not only the gospel of God but our lives as well, because you had become so dear to us.” Good stuff : ) Anyways, I will be praying for you all at the Patio as you seek to touch the community.

Leave a Reply

