“Hey there Delilah” & “Indie Rock n’ Roll”

So every since I saw the Wedding Singer, I wanted to write a love song to a girl that is catchy and lovely, but still expresses the truth of my love.  One of the songs for the week for me does just that.  “Hey There Delilah” by Plain White T’s

It is a song that expresses love and willingless to commit. Two things that my heart is longing more and more for every week.  I love being in this place in my life.  I don’t know God’s plan for me with my life, but I know that it is in His hands.  The first song from the Plain White T’s has a great line that hits me: 

“A thousand miles seems pretty far
But they’ve got planes and trains and cars
I’d walk to you if I had no other way”

This song doesn’t have much to it, other than a simple guitar part and a simple melodic line that catches you.  But it is a song that can be sung over and over, just like all good songs to me.

This second song is from one of my favorite bands at the moment.  “Indie Rock ‘n Roll” by the Killers.  This song just meets me at my core.  Not because I like Indie music which I do, but because of the counter melody that goes on at the end of the song.  This song isn’t the greatest lyrical song I know but I like the way Brandon Flowers makes the melodies flow together.  He has such a unique voice.  I think this song is on here not because of the song, even though it is a great song, but because the Killers are just awesome.  No matter what song they play, I love it.  I love the way everything just gets nailed when they play it.  Nothing is wrong when the Killers play, in my opinion.   

3 thoughts on ““Hey there Delilah” & “Indie Rock n’ Roll”

  1. that is funny, I have some stuff by Remy but not that one. I have seen 2 percent milk and A.R.A.B. Those were pretty good.

  2. Have you ever heard of a comedian/singer/rapper named remy. Mike introduced us to his stuff through youtube and its hillariaus. He remade the Delilah song, but instead of Delilah, it’s Halilah. He plays as this guy who’s from Iraq and his name is Habib. So that part where the original song goes: “Oh it’s what you do to me”, Habib says:” Oh it’s the way you cook the meat”. Youtube it, it’s awesome. It’s under goremy.

Leave a Reply

