good vs. God?

Well, long day just finished.  I got to share a conversation with a local writer about the possibility of publishing a book.  It was cool.  I don’t know if God would want me to but the possibility of accomplishing a dream is amazing. 

My question for the past few months has been, “How come God keeps opening up doors to which I am not supposed to take?”  I know that the enemy might be opening the doors as well as my own pride or desires, but either way God is allowing the doors to be opened.  How come a lot of new opportunities keep showing up on the horizon?  What is going on in my life?  I am enjoying it and feeling really burdened to follow Him more fully but where to go?  I was having a conversation with a long-time friend on the phone this afternoon and we were talking about job possibilities and he said something that hit me, “I know that this seems good, but is it God?” 

In my mind, I have been going through many different avenues for me to take in my life and I see lots of chances coming in my glimpse but God keeps showing me how being a missionary in Reedy Fork is what I am to do now.  Nothing can get in the way of that.  I have to stay focused.   I am asking each of you to hold me accountable to this. 

I want to start asking myself about everything I do, “I know that this seems good, but is it God?” 

Side note:  Here is a list of things I want to do someday, without the obvious seeking of God throughout my whole life:
Travel to Hawaii and live there for a while
Skydive
Write a book
Go on a tour with a band
Be a missionary
Find a wife and make 2.4 kids, and 1.2 pets
Own a house
Go to sleep pretty soon

 Ok, so some of those things are stretches, I know that I won’t go to sleep soon enough.  But I think it would be cool to get all things done.  Right now, I am being a missionary so check off that one.  I once wrote a short story as a kid, for a 2nd grade class.  It was good; the story was about a car that didn’t have any friends but had a dream to compete in a Nascar race.  Until recently, I suppressed this but not being a Nascar fan, I wrote a book about it.  Good stuff. 

Skydiving will not likely take place soon because I am a pansy.  But I will be going on my first flight on a plane in a week and a half.  Exciting times.  Hawaii will probably happen next summer.  Awesome.  I might go skydiving there. 

Finding a wife will be hard because I tend to screw things up in this area but oh well, our God is a God of a thousand chances.  He always forgives and always heals.  Yet all the time, giving us life.  If He gives us life, He can give us a wife.  So check that one off just because God is faithful.  2.4 kids might be hard.  What would a .4 kid look like?  What would the .6 be missing in?  Would he/she (it) have only 1 eye, no arms, 1 leg (the left one), and no belly button?  But 1.2 pets will be easy because I have always tended to not keep animals around for a long time.  If you have a goldfish, they don’t really count that much so they are only .2 anyways. 

Ok, I am sorry for putting you through this non-sensical blog.  Thanks for being a part of my life.  Keep it up.  I need the encouragement and support. 

4 thoughts on “good vs. God?

  1. Hebrews 13:5 says “…be satisfied with where you are right now; for God is with you and will never leave you.”

    Jason, you are obedient, trusting, faithful and you bring glory to God because of this. Keep doing what you are doing. People are watching, God’s doing a mighty work through you!

    Thanks for sharing what you are going through!

  2. It is good to see you list your goals and work to achieve them. I’ve never listed mine – perhaps I should.

    God will definitely supply the wife… faithfullness is always faithful.

    God bless you, Bunch!
    sunshine

  3. Ok, so this blog is proof. You’ve been a Nascar fan since at least 2nd grade. I don’t care what you say, you know you like it. haha.
    The funny thing is that I have wanted to write a book, too. I don’t care if it ever gets published. I just want to write one. I have the full outline for every chapter and all the characters, just don’t have the time to write it. It’s a cool goal though that we both should see through til we accomplish it.
    2.4 kids…haha

Leave a Reply

