release date

Harry Potter just released worldwide about 3 hours ago.  The mania was great.  Some friends and I went to be a part of the hysteria, not to wait in line for the book, but just to watch the people in line.  It was great.  I had so much fun with it.  There were all kinds of people dressed like witches and wizards.  I realized a few things.  This was a night that couldn’t have taken place a few hundred years ago.  Why?  Well, because there were these things called witch hunts.  In the 1600s it was not good to be a witch.  Now it is a top-selling book.  Who knew? 

Another thing I realized was that sometimes if you really think of how to buy things that are huge retail sellers, you will find a way to get it as easily as possible.  What I am trying to say is that all the people here in Greensboro were waiting in line at Barnes & Noble, or so it seemed.  The workers told us that they had sold about 2,000 books which equals to about 40,000 dollars for the book release.  Anyways, after about an hour or so of chilling outside with all the Potter people, we walked over to Harris Teeter and bought a book there for cheaper.  It was great.  I also got detergent to which I desperately needed. 

I wrote a blog a few days before about the Potter party people and what they have going on in the minds.  But seeing all those people up close reminded me of people flocking to Jesus in His day.  Everyone wanted a piece of the action.  That is what went on tonight.  Everyone got caught up in something that made them come alive.  Jesus did it 2,000 years ago.  Harry Potter seemed to be doing it tonight. 

Being a worship leader, there are many times when I think about worship.  Who knew?  Well, anyways, I agree with Louie Giglio, in his book, The Air I Breathe, when he says that “whatever we worship, we imitate.  Whatever we imitate, we become.”  Tonight was living proof of that for me.  The worship I am talking about does not just mean that we bow down and praise but we give to.  Worship, in this sense, is about devotion and the need to serve.  Tonight, thousands of people at the Barnes & Noble in Greensboro, NC, devoted themselves to Harry Potter (This is only 1 place that had them on sale in Greensboro, Borders, Walmart, Target, Harris Teeter all had it.  I am sure some gas stations did to but we are talking about a world-wide release – imagine the profit and Potter mania elsewhere).  They stayed up.  Dressed up.  Messed themselves up for a book.  They wanted to become the characters to which they adored. 

It was great seeing people want something better.  Tonight gave me a lesson in God. 

A while back, there was a Michael Jackson concert when he had released the Dangerous album and I remember watching ir and seeing the crowd go crazy.  It ended having about 3 dead people from the concert because they died from what the paramedics deemed to be “overexcitement.”  It is interesting that we can get too excited about something so trivial in the grand scheme of things.  Totally unrelated (well maybe, sort of), but I was having a conversation with Mike today about how we get teary eyed when we see a dog die on screen but we don’t shed a tear when it is a human.  We are unique beings. 

But on a side note, I have been reading stories worldwide of hysteria related to this release. 

Here is just one of the many stories:
girl kills herself when reading about the ending (ending turned out to be a fabrication).

My question to you is: what do you adore?  What are you willing to do for that which you love?  What do you need the most in your life?  And what do you about that need? 

One thought on “release date

  1. Yeah, me and lindsay went driving around Greensboro last night looking at the people. I’m glad you had fun even though you never called us back. just kidding.
    p.s. I like your background. I was going to use that one, but then I would lying because I hate to read. haha

Leave a Reply

