balance

In each of us, there is an innate sense to want to be balanced.  I have felt this all my life.  Whenever I am not in balance, I get stressed.  I will forget to put God first.  I will forget to live alongside others.  I will not get any of the tasks that I set out to do done.  I will be unaware of this unless I make myself remember that I am out of balance.

So over the past few weeks, more like past days, I am starting to get a balance in my life that is unequal to anything before in my life.  I am starting to eat better, work out more consistently, study harder by getting my seminary work done well enough in advance, reading for encouragement (devotion and Scripture study), culture analyzing (such as research on churches that are doing marvelous things in this time), as well as making times for people in my life.  It is an amazing thing.

Today, I had the most structured day that I think that I have ever had.  I worked out hour by hour of what I am going to do.  It has been great.  It has been encouraging.  Oddly enough, it has been making me want to study more and plan farther in advance, because I can’t get all of what I need done in the time that I allotted so I have to push it to the next day or to the next available time slot.  It is great having balance.

I believe that this is the word of the day for me.  Looking throughout the Gospels, I see how much balance Jesus had.  He had time of his disciples, he had time for prayer (usually in the middle of the night or early in the morning), he had time to teach others, he had time to heal.  What I am realizing is that when we start to live a balanced life, we start to open up time for ourselves so that we can be available for others.  It is an astounding principle.

Well let’s all try to develop balance in our lives, in our scheduling, in our budgeting, in our prayer and Scripture time, and also, in everything else.  I am not a balanced person naturally, so if I can do it, you can do it.  Strive for balance.

Leave a Reply

