the summer and wedding bell blues

So summer is over.  At least in my opinion, because there is no way that I can go to the pool anymore out here.  So sad.  But during this time, I have learned so much about myself.  I have learned how little I am.  I have learned how dumb I can be.  I have learned that there are so many things in my life that I don’t give to God.  But I have also learned how faithful He is. 

This summer has been an exciting one for me but it has also been a time of great frustration.  I have changed churches this summer.  That process went smoothly but some were hurt because of my decision to join the Patio.  But I followed God’s will and I can say that I don’t regret it at all.  I never have. 

But this summer has also shown me how much of a yearning I have for a family.  A lot of me really wants to get married as soon as possible but God is holding me back from making any rash decisions.  A lot of me wants to have kids, a house and all the other things that marriage can lead to.   

But I have always been one to be selfish and go after what I want.  And God is showing me how much I need to live for Him and for those around me.  After all, love your neighbor as yourself is included with love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, mind and strength.  I am praying that God would open up doors for me to have a family and I am yearning for that moment, but right now, I am going to focus on God.  I am going to not look either to the right or to the left, I am just going to watch God and see what He does. 

It is hard for me to see so many people have families and see so many people getting married.  In case I haven’t told you, Mike and I found out a while back that almost all of my past girlfriends got engaged to the next person after they and I broke up.  I call it the dating curse because they get married and I remain single.  So ladies, if you are reading this, if you want to get married, you can date me and therefore initiate the process which will either lead to you marrying me or the next guy that comes around. 

Ok, exaggeration is my strong suit.  I am just venting.  But I actually think it is quite funny.  All the above was written just to say, please pray for me that I will remain focus on what God is calling me to do.  I don’t want to have all these distractions getting in the way of me pursuing Him with all my heart. 

One thought on “the summer and wedding bell blues

Leave a Reply

