250 – 201

250 – bittersweet – fuel
249 – good people – jack johnson
248 – beautiful lord – leeland
247 – for once in my life – michael buble
246 – the wonderful cross – chris tomlin & matt redman
245 – the answer – shane and shane
244 – forgot about dre – dr. dre & eminem
243 – no surprises – radiohead
242 – where’s the love – hanson
241 – when i’m gone – three doors down
240 – carry on, my wayword son – kansas
239 – only wanna be with you – hootie & the blowfish
238 – we will rock you – queen
237 – selah – lauryn hill
236 – water runs dry – boyz II men
235 – the only living boy in new york – simon & garfunkel
234 – your love, oh lord – third day
233 – born in the usa – bruce springsteen
232 – hoppipolla – sigur ros
231 – how great is our god – chris tomlin
230 – i’ll make love to you – boyz II men
229 – road to joy – bright eyes
228 – wonderwall – oasis
227 – like a rolling stone – bob dylan
226 – being for the benefit of mr. kite – beatles
225 – king of the road – randy travis
224 – calling out your name – rich mullins
223 – mr. jones – counting crows
222 – shout – the isley brothers
221 – heart of worship – matt redman
220 – wake me when september ends – green day
219 – so what – miles davis
218 – i don’t know what i can save you from – kings of convenience
217 – sea of faces – kutless
216 – wherever you will go – the calling
215 – imagine – john lennon
214 – walk this way – run dmc & aerosmith
213 – wrong way – sublime
212 – gimme three steps – lynyrd skynyrd
211 – mr. telephone man – new edition
210 – the distance – cake
209 – R.E.S.P.E.C.T. – aretha franklin
208 – i want you back – jackson 5
207 – yesterday – beatles
206 – the prayer – josh groban & charlotte church
205 – at last – etta james
204 – i want it that way – backstreet boys
203 – piano man – billy joel
202 – last dance with mary jane – tom petty & the heartbreakers
201 – satellite – dave matthews band

Only 200 more and then we are done.  I just want to express that I feel for this.  I am so happy to have gone through this process but I realize, more fully now, why they have committees for this kind of selection.  There is no way one person can get it all right about the order without excluding some or lifting others higher than they should.  Remember this last is fallible, just like its maker, and you can take what you get from it.  I wish to just spark others to look at what they like and ask the questions: why do I like this?  What about this hits me at the core?  What do I like more?  What am I most passionate about?  These are the kinds of questions that will make you better as a person.  I have learned an immense amount of information about myself through the process of looking over songs and remembering how they affected me at the time and how they have shaped me into who I am today.  It is an unbelievable amount of fun to learn what you liked and realize man, those songs suck now but it also hits you hard as to how some songs stay in your mind forever. 

Well 2 more weeks and we will be done with this whole countdown.  I might have to start another one because I am thoroughly enjoying this process.  Maybe best movies, or books, or any other sort of thing. 

3 thoughts on “250 – 201

  1. So far I have to agree with you Tara.

    I can’t believe that TLC “Waterfalls” is up there. That is one of the dumbest songs ever. The lyrics do not make sence. Sorry Jason… I’m still waiting for the rest of your songs to find out if you included some of my all time favorites.
    Otherwise there are some pretty good songs up there.

Leave a Reply

