words from jonah

Ok, so I went to this worship thing the other day and didn’t really enjoy it too much.  I thought that it was kind of boring and irrelevant as well as quite long.  I don’t know if my heart was in the wrong place or whether or not it was the event or just me.  Either way, I got something out of it that changed me to the core. 

So regardless, the speaker brought up a good verse that hit me to the core.  In Jonah 2:8, it says, “Those who cling to worthless idols forfeit the grace that could be theirs.”  Man, oh man, it hit me hard.  I almost started crying as soon as he mentioned it. I don’t understand really why it affected me so much but it did. 

It made me think about how I seek after things that please me rather than things that force me to seek after God.  I wish I could say that in all my life, I seek God.  But most of the time, I am seeking my own pleasures.  So my prayer is to please God in all that I do.  My prayer is to go after God with all that I am. 

Meditate on this verse over the next few days:  “Those who cling to worthless idols forfeit the grace that could be theirs.”

One thought on “words from jonah

Leave a Reply

