I know too much

At this point in my life, I consider myself learning how to follow Christ.  I consider part of my learning experience,  to be unlearning all the preconceptions that I thought were true but are indeed the opposite. 

And today, I had a huge insight.  The fresh thought came from re-watching season 5 of 24 (best season of the show by the way).  I have been noticing that every character on the show knows a certain amount of information.  And that, here is the insight, the ones who know too much are always the ones who die.  The one who found out who the bad guy was.  The one who somehow lost his keycard and didn’t let anyone know about it.  The one who was searching for his friend and found out she died and therefore, he himself died.  The ones who know too much have to pay the price for it. 

This is big for me, because I read a lot.  Blogs, books, news, digg.com, everywhere.  I enjoy acquiring information that could benefit me in the future.  After all, one of my strengths is an input, which is very much tied to a learner (not the academic kind, just the one who likes to learn). 

And since, the ones who know too much have to pay the price for it, I realize that if my actions don’t back up my knowledge – it is all for nothing.  I will have learned for nothing, if there is no action.  

In the book of James, it says, “be a doer of the Word and not merely a hearer, otherwise deceiving yourselves.” 

So, I need to learn this advice and put it into practice – do what you know.  Otherwise, I will just have known too much. 

2 thoughts on “I know too much

  1. I disagree with you. I believe that season 3 is the best season of 24.

    Oh, and before I read this blog, I looked at the title and I was like “whoa, somebody is definitely not humble”. lol

Leave a Reply

