look to the cross

I was reading for seminary today out of the book, The Cross of Christ by John R. W. Stott and a quote he had hit me from Martin Luther to a monk in distress about his sins:

Learn to know Christ and him crucified.  Learn to sing to him and say ‘Lord Jesus, you are my righteousness, I am your sin.  You took on what was mine; yet set on me what was yours.  You became what you were not, that I might become what I was not.’ “

This quote is something we all need to be reminded of from time to time.  As we face each trouble of each day, we must remember that God sent His Son to die on the cross for us.  As my favorite Scripture says in 2 Corinthians 5:21, “God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that we might in Him become the righteousness of God.” 

 

One thought on “look to the cross

  1. The “Cross of Christ” by John Stott is one of the best books I have ever read. I hav eit on my “GReat Books” page. Here is the link if you want to take a look at what I have to say about it:

    http://anuncommongrace.wordpress.com/great-books/

    I also listed Stott’s more recent book “Evangelical Truth” as my top read for 2008. Here is that link:

    http://anuncommongrace.wordpress.com/2009/02/21/top-three-books-for-2008/

    Feel free to leave a comment if you like.

    Blessings,
    Darian

Leave a Reply

