concentration vs. passion

If you are like me, you sometimes struggle to see whether God is working in you or not.  For me, I have the hardest time concentrating (on anything but mostly) on spending time alone with God.  For some reason, I simply can’t do it to the best of my abilities. 

I try and do it every morning but even though, I will read my Bible, I will sometimes slip into this phase of non-concentration where every single little thing becomes the ultimate distraction that can’t be dealt with. 

However, I am beginning to see light at the end of a tunnel.  I am realizing that my concentration is tied up with my passion, and nothing else. 

If I am passionate about something, no distraction will come up because I will have the utmost devotion to whatever I am passionate about. 

So that is my new prayer.  Not to become less distracted.  Or to become more concentrated.  But to become more passionate about God and more yearning to focus on God and my relationship with Him. 

When you have settled into a peaceful spirit and are fully aware of God’s presence; when earthly distractions are not your primary thoughts; when your soul has properly fed on God’s Word and you have chosen by an act of your will to believe it, you are now ready to communicate with your heavenly Father.” 

                                            – Madame Guyon

Leave a Reply

