thought from the world is flat

Some books take a long time to digest, while others are quick bites. 

One book that I have been devouring for almost 6 months now is The World is Flat by Thomas L. Friedman

It is quite an exhilarating read and I am sad that it is quickly coming to a close.  So I thought that I would celebrate by posting a quote from it:

We’re so accessible, we’re inaccessible.  We can’t find the off switch on our devices or on ourselves.  We want to wear an iPod as much to listen to our own playlists as to block out the rest of the world and protect ourselves from all that noise.  We are everywhere-except where we actually are physically.”  – as quoted by Linda Stone

Do you agree with it or not? 

I know that I struggle with keeping technology from developing greater relationships.

This reminds of a thought that Rob Bell put in my head about  being “eternally present.”  I want to put myself fully into every conversation fully.  I want to be completely myself at all times and in all places. 

It is my thought that in order to be ourselves, we must sometimes turn off everything around us and simply “be” in that moment.

Leave a Reply

