Heaven – Randy Alcorn (review)

Heaven – Randy Alcorn

heavenWith most of the books I read, it is easy to tell right away whether I like the book or not.  This book was not one of those. 

I had to read this book for seminary and because of that, I am happy to say that I really enjoyed it.  It was very good reading but it might be because of the requirement that was lurking behind it.  I guess you could say that I have mixed reviews about it. 

However, despite some things being really wonderful, there were moments that I felt bored and also frustrated because Alcorn simply became redundant at many points. 

This was the first book that I have ever read on the subject of heaven so I am really ignorant when it comes to books on this wonderful subject. 

He did make me yearn  for heaven, simply because of the unknowns that I wish to experience.  But I still have so many more questions (heaven reminds me of Lost – you get one answer for every 1,000 questions that are added). 

Here are some good quotes:

  • “To long for Christ is to long for Heaven, for that is where we will be with him” (20).
  • “Our minds are so much set on Earth that we are unaccustomed to heavenly thinking.  So we must work at it” (21). 
  • “The reality of Hell should break our hearts and take us to our knees and to the doors of those without Christ” (24). 
  • “In The Problem of Pain, C. S. Lewis writes of Hell, ‘There is no doctrine which I would more willingly remove from Christianity than this, if it lay in my power.  But it has the full support of Scripture and, specially, of our Lord’s own words; it has always been held by Christendom; and it has the support of reason’ ” (26).
  • “The best of life on Earth is a glimpse of Heaven; the worst of life is a glimpse of Hell” (28). 
  • “Consider the wonder of it:  God determined that he would rather go to Hell on our behalf than live in Heaven without us” (28). 
  • “We should stop thinking of Heaven and Earth as opposites and instead view them as overlapping circles that share certain commonalities” (54). 
  • “What lies behind our notion that God is going to destroy the earth and be done with it?  I believe it’s a weak theology of God” (89). 
  • quoting Paul Marshall, “What we need is not to be rescued from the world, not to cease being human, not to stop caring for the world, not to stop shaping human culture.  What we need is the power to do these things according to the will of God.  We, as well as the rest of creation, need to be redeemed” (159). 
  • “What we love about this life are the things that resonate with the life we were made for.  The things we love are not merely the best this life has to offer – they are previews of the greater life to come” (161). 
  • “Christ is not simply preparing a place for us; he is preparing us for that place” (215).
  • “The more we serve Christ now, the greater our capacity will be to serve him in Heaven” (226).

3 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

