being married = brand new car

Being married is like being the winner of brand new car.  

It truly is a gift from God.  

However, even though we received the gift freely, we must be focused on the (I hate this word, but nothing says it better) upkeep.  Or in better terms, the gift is free, the upkeep costs.  

We must constantly be focusing on how to maintain the love in our relationships.  Over the past month, I have been reminded more often than not of how I fail as a person.  I am learning just how truly sinful and selfish I am.  

I was having a conversation the other day with a friend about how marriage truly brings out the selfishness that we all have.  And just like my friend, I am learning that each and every time I do something that is not in her best interest.  Something that purely has my desires as the focus.  

The book Sacred Marriage points out that marriage is not about happiness but about holiness.  It is about obtaining whole-ness.  

But even though I am so glad to be where I am now, I never thought that this day would come.  Or at least, I thought that it would come a lot farther in my life, when I was forty or something.  But I am so fortunate and blessed to have such an amazing wife.  

And for that, 

I want to work as hard as I can to show her that I love her more and more each day.

Leave a Reply

