The Lost Symbol – Dan Brown

the_lost_symbolDo you ever find yourself captivated by someone’s ability to do what they do? 

That is my take on Dan Brown. 

I have always loved his books.  I have read almost all of them.  The only that remains is Digital Fortress.  He writes with such knowledge that it astounds you and he sure knows how to build up his suspense. 

Some thoughts on this book:
1) He writes short chapters.  4 or 5 pages.  I love that because he gets straight to the point.  Why can’t more books do that?  If they did that, books would be shorter and better. 
2) Where does he study all this material?  He can’t just make it up.  I don’t believe that was he is saying is always true, but come on, he is good. 
3) I love the fact that it takes place in Washington, D.C.  Vickie and I were talking the other day about how most good stories don’t take place over here in America.  Its always London or Egypt or something that I likely won’t get to visit.
4) I just might read Da Vinci Code and Angels & Demons again. 
5) As I was progressively moving through this book, I couldn’t help but think, “slow down because it is almost over.”  That is what all writers should strive for.  It is my opinion that in order to do this, one must write less and leave one wanting more
6) What should I read now?

I joined the craze of what Dan Brown means to publishing shortly after the Da Vinci Code came out. 

Before the churches took over and sent millions to read his book because they were attacking it. 

Is it sometimes best to ignore rather than to send people to the store in fascination with the controversial writings he had going on? 

This book stars the same character from the Da Vinci Code and its predecessor, Angels & Demons.  Robert Langdon. 

This book is good.  Very, very good.  Might be better than the two above.  Not sure though. 

***Disclaimer:  I hate doing a review on a fiction book because I can’t write about the plot (because unlike some jerks, I don’t want to ruin a book) which is the whole point of the book.  So read it for yourself.  I loved it.

Leave a Reply

