God brings the heat

I am learning that God loves to smack people in the face. 

Seriously, I truly mean this.  I know it is funny to think about a deity that would come down here just to pop you in the lip but there is truth to it. 

Have you ever had one of those moments where you have to be hit in order to see things clearly?  A moment where your life will not change unless you are struck with a new thought or a new way of thinking.

Yesterday, I got the smack beat out of me. 

You see, yesterday was not a good day for me.  It all started when I was getting ready to leave for seminary.  I couldn’t find my notebook which was desperately needed in that moment.  So I left without it and had to do a few handwritten assignments over again. 

Then, class was just dragging me down and my teacher reminded about an assignment due in the near future that I had not known about. 

Then, on the way home, my car (2004 Honda Civic=lovely and glorious vehicle) starts acting dumb.  The battery light goes on.  Then the valve-like light goes on.  Then I turn off all the electronics (no air and no radio – two things I must have at all times) to preserve the electrical energy.  Then all the electronics start flicking on and off, on and off, leaving me thriving in anger.  Then the car shuts off just inside the Greensboro city limits. 

Long story short, the wife and I are in a tight financial situation and a huge repair bill doesn’t help that.  God smacked me in the face. 

Now we have to figure out how to pay a $500 car bill, but for some reason, all this shifted our perspective.  We prayed and I feel fine.  I feel stupid because I wasn’t prepared for this, but honestly it will work out.  Not sure how.  But it will work out. 

All the above, simply to say: 
God smacking you in the face equals greater truth being internalized in your life.  A fist from God equals a new direction in you.  Because when God moves you, you can’t do anything but go in that direction.   

God brings the heat simply to mold you.

Leave a Reply

