’10 can’t compare with ’09

I thought about sharing my thoughts on how to make 2010 a better year than last year. 

I was going to focus on the things that I could improve and the things that I could stop doing altogether. 

But I didn’t, as you can tell. 

The reason is because I do not think that 2010 can compete with 2009. 

Gasp.  Yeah, I said it. 

’09 had some of the best things in the world happen to me.  Yeah, I started off unemployed and lost without a cause but as the year progressed, I became a car salesman, a better worship leader, a husband, a houseowner and a soon to be father.  I was even entrusted with finances through my church and organization at my job.  Things I never thought would happen happened.  And I am doing quite well, if you ask me. 

2010 won’t compare to 2009. 

Not really because it is better, but simply because it isn’t supposed to. 

I am tired of reviewing my past to prepare for the future.  You can’t do it.  You can’t improve upon it.  You simply have to leverage your past to stay on the journey God has for you in the future. 

So I am not going to review the past year.  Not because of any lack of regret or frustrations at my own incapabilities but simply because I  have so much going for me at the moment.  I don’t want to get sidetracked. 

The past was pretty great. 
The future is going to be greater. 
Yet the present is the greatest of all.   

Live each moment fully.  That’s what I plan on doing.

Leave a Reply

