obsession in the best way

I am what you would likely call obsessed.  I have that nature.  And it is not just about a few things.  I obsess over most things.   

I have the tendency to want to be involved in it all.  I also have the tendency to need to be right (which irritates my wife more than any other fault of mine).    But the obsession that takes over every other one is LOST. 

This show has meant so much to me over the years.  It is not a TV show for me.  It is an event.  Call me crazy or weird.  I honestly don’t care. 

But last night, as I was sitting there watching the premiere of the final season of my obsession, it hit me. 

Will this live up to my expectations? 

I honestly don’t know.  It has shattered every single expectation I have ever had.  So I think it will.  But what if it doesn’t?  And for the first time, I think LOST is teaching me how to live my life. 

Over the years of watching this show, I have come into it weekly expecting answers.  Expecting results that would drive my thoughts deeper.  And most times, I didn’t receive those answers, or at least not in the way I desired.  It simply made me ask more questions.  The same is true in life.

In my 26 years here on earth, I have seen a lot of questions answered.  But more than that, I have asked more questions.  I know less than I did a couple years ago.  Don’t get me wrong because I know more about some things, but less about the overall picture.  And that is why this season of Lost is inspiring me. 

It isn’t frustrating to me to ask questions.  It is actually an eye-opening adventure.  And for that reason, I am going to watch this season of Lost not expecting anything (as best as I can).  But you know what, I am going to try and do the same with my life.  I am not going to expect things to go my way, because rarely do they turn out my way.    I am simply going to enjoy the journey. 

You can call me obsessive or weird.  Okay, that is fine.  But just know that now I am obsessed with the journey before me.

Leave a Reply

