memories of the beginning

As a Christian, I have gone through certain phases. 

In the beginning, like most Christians, I read my Bible faithfully and prayed with an enthusiasm that could not be quenched.  Then after a few months or so of this, my enthusiasm started to wane.  I am not really sure why this happened but it did.  In fact, I believe that it helps to all Christians at some time or another. 

Then after year one was over, I started serving in a high impact capacity.  Leading bible studies.  Leading worship at various organizations.  Leading.  Leading.  Leading. 

Now, I am not sure that that is how I would do it if I had the chance to go back and relive those moments.  I think that I would have waited and got more grounded in my faith before leading.  Because many times, I put too much emphasis on doing and not enough focus on being.  Being centered around God.  Being obsessed with spreading the hope of the world to everyone I meet.  Being in love with Jesus. 

But this morning, I read a quote from an old blog of mine.  It might have been the very first blog I ever wrote and it said in a very-Rob Bell-esque fashion:

May we pray every day, every chance we get, for God to teach us to live missional lives, to notice people who need to be loved.  May God give us the strength to follow Him with all our hearts, all our minds, all our strength.  May we become the kinds of people who change the world with love, and not with power or strength, but in weakness, knowing that we can’t do it on our own. 

And because of this quote, I believe that I was on the right path all along.  I want the same things now that I wanted then.  The only thing that has changed is that I have gotten cultured as a Christian and I now know more than I ever have before.  

Sometimes we simply need to see memories of the beginning.

Leave a Reply

