destination now

I don’t know about you, but I love to see big things happen.  I work toward seeing them.

But at the same time, I forget that ministry is in the everyday and not in the someday. This is probably the most important thing that I am currently learning.

My niche has always been to look to tomorrow.  How can I get there?  What am I doing now that is pushing toward there?

But those questions miss the point.  You have heard this many times before – the journey is the point, not the destination.  Yet we lose sight of that.  We lose sight of the current promised land that God has allowed us to be in.  We can be in His presence at any moment yet we continually seek after the Canaan in our dreams.  We have the land flowing with milk and honey yet we want that land flowing with milk and honey.

I read a quote from Michael Horton this past week that hit me – “The modern tendency is to downplay the ordinary ministry of the church in favor of the extraordinary movements of the moment.”

I believe in its truth.
Live each day as if its your destination.

Leave a Reply

