Elizabethtown

One of my favorite movies is Elizabethtown.  I know I am a loser for this.  Oh well, that Orlando  Bloom is so dreamy.  What I meant to say was that Kirsten Dunst is my crush.

I believe that I love this movie simply because of two scenes in the movie.  The first one is between Orlando Bloom’s character, Drew, and Alec Baldwin’s character who just so happens to be Drew’s boss, Phil.  In case you are not aware, it is very funny to see Alec Baldwin act no matter what his character is doing.  But when Phil says, “I cry a lot”, it is awesome.  Drew has made a big mistake and it is one that could ruin his career and his company.

After discovering this new fiasco, Phil is like so many people in this world because at one point during this grieving state, after losing almost a billion dollars, because of Drew’s fiasco, Phil says “I am ill-equipped in the philosophies of failure.”  This is how we approach life.  We fear failure so we don’t try.  This is personified through Phil.

But the more defining moment of the movie (which I believe could change our lives if applied) is when Kirsten Dunst’s character, Claire Colburn, finds out about Drew’s so-called failure.  Here is what she replies immediately by saying, “So you failed. Alright you really failed. (almost in a sing-songy way too).  You failed. You failed. You failed. You failed. You failed. You failed. You failed. You failed. You failed. You failed. You failed. You failed. You think I care about that? I do understand. You wanna be really great? Then have the courage to fail big and stick around. Make them wonder why you’re still smiling.”

I love that.  Today I found another quote that hit this issue of failure too but in more spiritual terms.  Here it is:  “Sometimes the difference between living a great life for God and living in mediocrity is how we handle our failures.” – Mac Lake

So, today, I want you to fail.  Fail big.  Cry a lot about it.  But then keep on going.  Keep dreaming the dreams and trying to strive for their reality.  Make them wonder why you’re still smiling.

One thought on “Elizabethtown

  1. Very encouraging, Bunch. I sometimes wonder why I don’t try harder, and then I think it’s also an American mindset. I don’t want to waste a day – even if I fail – I want to use my time to keep trying. Thanks for your words.

Leave a Reply

