new focus musically

Here is something that I must say:

I am embarking on a new career.

I am, however, not at the point of quitting my job.  I am simply stepping out in faith, not experience, to develop a musical career.

Just so you know, I don’t really have plans to move to Nashville and become a superstar artist or anything like that.  But I do have a particular set of things that I am looking to explore.

First on the list is gaining some more students to teach private lessons to.  Teaching is a passion of mine and since the school systems in NC are not really hiring in this area, I am going to create my own path to see my own music teaching come to good use.  After all, it was my music teachers that got me to the point where I am at today and I am just trying to pay it forward for the next generation.

Second on the list is writing more music.  My journal is starting to become filled with ideas for songs that I am determined to bring to completion.  However, this item on the list covers a wide range of desires because I want to start composing some instrumental music like I did in high school and early college.  I am not sure how I plan to use these songs but I am very excited about it.  I am also going to look into writing some jingles and possibly some parodies for local agencies in need of them, be it radio stations or businesses.

The third and final thing on my list is to try and build up a career in performing.  I don’t expect to make a ton of money at this but I am determined to play music for anyone willing to listen.  I believe that I am in a great spot because I honestly don’t care if I succeed.  I simply have to do it for me.

I am just sharing all this with you because I have heard that Thomas Edison used to hold a press conference every time he had an idea in order to spark in him the determination toward bringing it to completion.  (I am not sure if this story is based in fact but it is good advice nonetheless).

Leave a Reply

