Outlive your Life by Max Lucado

I have been moving through a ton of books this year and I fastly approaching my goal of 100 books for the year.

The latest book that I read is one that has truly excited me and I wanted to share it with you.  It is Max Lucado’s Outlive your Life.

Just like his other books, this one is a quick read.  I highly recommend it.  I usually like his books and this one did not disappoint.  In fact, I believe that it might be his best book in a number of years.  He takes his readers through the book of Acts in a unique way.

Acts is probably my favorite book of Scripture and he opens it a new and fresh way.  Not like a commentary but more just stories from his life which demonstrate the beginning of the church in a practical way.

I wanted to say so much about this book but I have such a short amount of time available  Here is my favorite quote.  It is a prayer that ends the book but I believe it contains so much passion that I just wanted to let you see it in its entirety.
Here it is:

O Lord,  where did I see you yesterday… and didn’t recognize you?  Where will I encounter you today…and fail to identify you?  O my Father, give me eyes to see, a heart to respond, and hands and feet to serve you wherever you encounter me!  Transform me, Lord, by your Spirit into a servant of Christ, who delights to meet the needs of those around me.  Make me a billboard of your grace, a living advertisement for the riches of your compassion.  I long to hear you say to me one day, “Well done, good and faithful servant.”  And I pray that today I would be that faithful servant who does well at doing good.  In Jesus’ name I pray, amen.

He also ends up quoting Matthew 25:34-36 in the NLT.   One of the best representations for loving those who are the least in our society.

“Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the Kingdom prepared for you from the creation of the world. 35 For I was hungry, and you fed me. I was thirsty, and you gave me a drink. I was a stranger, and you invited me into your home. 36 I was naked, and you gave me clothing. I was sick, and you cared for me. I was in prison, and you visited me.'” (Matthew 25:34-36)

Great book.  4 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

