nothing new under the sun

There is nothing new under the sun.

This is so true and I am understanding it more and more everyday through all of the books I am reading and the tv shows and movies I am watching.

If you look at the list of movies over the past 5 years, you would be surprised at the number of remakes.  Its the same with my new favorite tv show, Hawaii Five-O.

I am absolutely loving this show.  But its not new.  It is a complete remake with some new characters and some new technology that came about after the CSI craze.

This show, unlike any other current one, has got me thinking.

Too many times in regards to creativity, I have wanted to make something new.  But while watching Hawaii Five-O, I realized that its okay to not be new.  Just be creative in the form that you take.  You don’t have to reinvent the wheel every time you take off on your journey.

Another example of something creative coming about in an old form is through one of the hottest video games to release this year – Goldeneye for the Wii.  I rented this game and loved it.  I loved it not because of its freshness but because this was a game I played in middle school.

I loved it then and now because of its true creativity within its own realm.  It was/is one of the best first person shooters.  Some say it defined the genre.  But it is awesome because of its brilliance within its own realm.  Goldeneye Wii didn’t seek to be something new under the sun.  It just sought to join in the realm and shine the brightest.

There are many other examples of this but I just wanted to share the two that are exciting me the most currently.

What kind of things have you been avoiding that have been done before by pleading that you want to create something new and not just a replica?

Leave a Reply

