he won’t always be like that

Vickie and I bought a playset for Harrison to put in the backyard.  It is quite an awesome toy if you ask me.  I wish I had something like that when I was a kid.  It has a slide, a ladder, a rock climbing wall (like 2 feet high!!!), a scope, and a wheel (because boats are in these days).

And my son loves it.  At first, I was concerned he wouldn’t like it that much but he has come around to it.  He goes out there each day a couple times a day with his friends and plays on it.  He walks up the slide (tries to) and then falls down the ladder (yes my kid is a little backwards).

He in fact is sad when you open any door to the outside world and don’t let him venture forth out there.  He will raise a huge ruckus and this thought caught me:

He won’t always be like that.

He won’t always get saddened when someone opens and closes a door without letting him out.  He won’t always desire to play on the playset outside. He won’t always be fed by us.  He won’t always need us.

And instead of feeling sad which I hear is easy for parents to do, I was ecstatic.  Not because my little son won’t always need me.  But because he will grow up to be his own man to do what God has called him to do.  Right now, I’m just teaching him all I know, and in 3 or 4 years when I run out of stuff to teach him, I’ll teach him what others know.

Just so you know, I started this post wanting to talk about how we are like my son in the fact that eventually we will lose the wonder in our lives but I don’t think that’s it necessarily.  I truly believe that our wonder is just stretched to the point of unbelievable faith.  Each day, I look forward to getting up and learning more and growing more.  And I can’t wait to see what God is going to do through my son.

But I believe there is so much truth in the statement that he won’t always be like that.  I feel like that defines our lives as Christians.

  • I used to be stuck in sexual sin.  But not anymore.
  • I used to be look at every woman with lust. But I’m not like that anymore.
  • I used to accumulate debt every time I wanted a video game, a book, or a lunch.  But I’m not like that anymore.
  • And many, many more.

But the truth is I’m not like that anymore.  And neither are you.

So let’s rejoice in that truth.

Leave a Reply

