remembering 9/11

Recently, I have been fascinated by the events of 9/11.  Fascination is not the best word to use for an event with sadness at that magnitude but I have been reading articles on the events of that day and have been watching documentaries about it.

It all started with a documentary that I watched one afternoon on Netflix a couple months ago.  The documentary placed the idea in my head that the events of 9/11 were not as they seemed.  Although it came to the conclusion that the Bush administration had caused the events of 9/11, I was still pretty skeptical.  And I just couldn’t get it out of my mind and wanted to read more about it.  Especially with the implications that the documentary was posing.

So I checked out a book from my local library.  Its called The Eleventh Day by Anthony Summers and Robbyn Swan.  It is a fascinating read.  Very thoroughly researched and amazing in its scope.  They paint a picture of terrorists obsessed with wanting to kill Americans and preserve their “pure religion”.  We all know them as Osama bin Laden and al Qaeda and this book did a great job of presenting the events as they happen and showing that there differently was more than we were told.  There was definite deception and corruption but more importantly, there was incompetence.

These events could have been prevented, I sincerely believe.  I have just been aching over the events of 9/11 for a couple weeks now and I just simply can’t express the gratitude I have for those people who helped to save lives and it just blows my mind that this happened in our country and to so many people.

This started out as a review of a book but what follows ends with a deep regret for what happened and joy that God is about redeeming and restoring all of creation.

I just wish to point out one paragraph that I read in this book that truly hit me.  It actually came from the Acknowledgments section which most tend to ignore but I have always read this closing section because I want to write a book one day and I believe that I should study how people write in all ways.  In fact, my friend Aaron, who was a film major in college had to see about 500 films throughout his time in college, remarked to me that when the filmmaking students had to go to the theater to see the movies, you were basically ridiculed if you left before all the credits were done.  These were people who wished to pursue filmmaking as a career and they stayed to watch these films.  So I likewise honor those in the craft I would love to be a part of by reading the liner notes for musicians (if I buy the full album), and reading the acknowledgments in books.  (Sorry for the long thoughts about explaining my quirkiness).

Here’s the quote that caught me:  “We were reminded at every step of the way that the story on which we were embarked was freighted with human suffering: that of those who died on September 11 itself, of those killed in earlier and subsequent attacks, and of the more than 100,000 people who have died and continue to die in the ensuing conflicts – and those left grieving across the world.

In this Acknowledgments section of our book, then, we honor first and foremost those who will never be able to read it.”

That just breaks my heart to read.  I literally shed a tear when I read that.  This blog post, no matter how trivial it is, is for those who died in the 9/11 attacks.  And I know that I am writing this after the 10th anniversary (I can’t believe it has been 10 years!), but I just wish to say that you have always been in my prayers since that fateful Tuesday.

I still remember being in my first semester at UNCG and being taught German that early morning and then hearing about the World Trade Centers being attacked and I had no idea what they were except for that they were two tall towers in NYC.  I then walked back to my dorm, after picking up some breakfast (I know you probably think how heartless I was but no one knew it was an attack at that point and I didn’t really feel connected to anyone there in NYC) but on my way to my room, I saw this girl crying her eyes out on the phone.  I was close enough to her to overhear that she was trying to locate her brother who worked at the WTC.  I was instantly caught up in the devastation that was 9/11 at that moment.  I quickly went back to my dorm to see what was going on (because there was no other TV that I could watch that early) and was caught by the image and then saw the 2nd plane hit the other building live.  I couldn’t believe that this was happening.  I couldn’t believe that this was real.  That this had been done to our country in our country.  Still to this day, it makes no sense to me how someone can be so willing to kill 1,000s of people.  But it did happen and so many lives have been taken and laid down since then.

So I just want to honor those who were lost on that day and those who have been lost since.  I could talk about how Jesus said that we are to love our enemies but I don’t wish to say that.  I truly want people to pay for what they did.  And I know that I still need to be redeemed.  But I serve a great God who will redeem and restore all things.  And he’s creating in me a new way to live.  But today, I wish to honor those who were lost.

Leave a Reply

