George Lucas: Interviews

I just got finished reading a great book on George Lucas, the creator of Star Wars.  I am not sure why I started watching this series a couple weeks ago but I had a huge desire to do so.  I guess it has to do with the re-release of Star Wars Episode 1 in 3D.

Either way, I picked up this book.  And I was fascinated by it.  By both the depth that he goes into to make his films as well as just the deep annoyance he finds the establishment of Hollywood.  I never knew how much went into a film before reading this film and honestly I still have no idea about what all it takes.

This book really makes me want to do more with my music and my creativity because it shows just how determined we must be in order to bring our dreams to life.

I was very encouraged by this book and really wish that each of you would be blessed by the determination and work ethic of someone like George Lucas.  Even if you don’t appreciate his films (which I don’t want to associate with it if you hate Star Wars – just kidding, but seriously), you can appreciate the fact that he brought his dreams to life.

The book also showed me many things that I had no clue about.  Lucas always went with his gut and had to take many cuts because he wanted things to be a certain both in his films and in his contracts.  Example would be that George Lucas gave up a huge portion of his salary (circa $500,000) in order to keep the merchandising rights to Star Wars.  This single choice led him to be worth almost 2 billion dollars.  Think of all the books, toys, movies, TV shows, and Burger King meals that have endorsed Star Wars.

4 out of 5.

One thought on “George Lucas: Interviews

  1. Hmm, I didn’t even know there was a book of Lucas interviews.

    You know, I can’t help but admire George Lucas. For all the faults others find with how he handles the Star Wars universe (revisions to the movies, the quality of the prequels), he made his movies his way. You just have to respect someone who makes his dreams come true on his terms.

    I’ll have to check this book out; I could always use some inspiration. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

