Go find what you most love

I am very eagerly awaiting the desire to see who God makes me.  There are so many passions drawn up within my heart that I cannot contain what is going on within me.

But one thing that is truly stirring me up in my heart is this thought:

Go find what you most love.

That thought drives me to focus on music.  It drives me to create all that I do.  It pushes me to the very depths of my being and out of it, my heart rejoices.

Because until the past couple months, I wasn’t doing the things that I most loved.  I was doing what was expected of me or more importantly, what I expected someone in my position to do.  I joined 24/7 Church as a Worship/Youth Pastor and there were certain things that I put upon myself that I should have never put there.

One is the fact that I was trying to do youth ministry like most other youth ministries do them.  I tried to do it like my pastor did it in college.  And guess what happened?

It didn’t work.

I found myself getting worn out.  I found myself completely not following through in simple areas.  And I realized that there wasn’t something wrong with me.  I was just in the wrong place.  I wanted to speak and this was my outlet.  My heart did not burn for the kids as they do for those who are in need of discipleship.  I cared more about the discipleship plan for the whole church and found myself thinking about those things more than I did about fun retreats or events.

Don’t get me wrong, I loved being the youth pastor.  But it comes nowhere close to what God is doing through me now.

So here’s my advice to you:

Spend some time with God one on one and find out what He has been placing in you since the beginning of time.  Then keep doing it.  Never give up on something that you can’t go a day without thinking about.

That for me was music.  Creative projects.  Discipleship plans.  Bible study.

Leave a Reply

