Find a way to keep doing what you love

I’m at this point where I must decide what I’m going to do with my life.  I’m not quite 30 but this is the time in my life to discover who I am and learn about it to the best of my ability.  But it is also the time to set the foundation for what is to come.

So I am trying to pursue avenues I haven’t been through yet in order to keep doing what I love.  God has placed a few things in my life that burn within me to come out and I am just starting to do those things to the best of my ability.  I don’t want to look back on my life at 50 and think what a waste it was.  I want to do what I love all the time.  I don’t have time to settle for things that I am not supposed to do.  It is not the time to do good things but great things that only God has called us to.

A pastor/author from DC, Mark Batterson, once said that his greatest fear is to succeed at the wrong thing.  What he is saying in that quote is that He wants to do what God is calling him to do and nothing else.  Paul in the Bible said that he desired to know nothing among the people except that Jesus was crucified and rose from the dead.  That was his focus and that was all that he did with his life.  In other words, proclaiming that truth was what kept Paul up at night.

So here is my challenge to you today:
Find a way to keep doing what you love.

Yesterday, we talked about spending time with God in order to find out what He wants us to do with our lives.  Today, I want you to figure out a way to sustain it.  And here is a hint:  you’ll probably have to make some money at it in order to sustain the time you put into it.

There is no way that John Grisham could have written books while being a full time lawyer after a certain point.  He had to choose to stick to the thing that he loved.  So he quit being an attorney and focused on writing.  You can’t be a full time musician if you don’t make some type of money through gigs or lessons.  It is just the sad truth.

Do some research.  My uncle once said that the greatest advice he could give to someone is to find out what you love and figure out how to get paid to do it.  So how can you get paid to do what you love?  That’s the greatest career that you could build for yourself.  Sell yourself to no end and get your name out there.  Build a platform for the work which you want to do.

I promise you that it is hard work.  I am just now getting started with this step and I can tell you it is awkward asking for gigs and asking for new students and creating things that may never see the light of day.  It is a humbling experience but in a year or two, when I am sustained financially doing what I want to do, it will all have been worth it.  But I am also having a blast when I’m just able to do what I love right now.

Leave a Reply

