Emo comes out in different ways

I am just starting to see that I have an obsessive personality.  I didn’t use to think so because I knew people who truly did have one and they usually just focused on one thing at a time.  They would take up tae kwon do and go crazy with it for a few months and then move onto playing Halo.  Then take up the guitar.  Then learn kanji japanese.  Then decide that they should be praying more so they held prayer groups every other night and start fasting 2 or 3 days a week.  It was usually one obsession at a time.

Believe me, the above things truly did happen, almost in that exact order.

But the whole time, I fooled myself into thinking that I didn’t have an obsessive personality because I didn’t act that way.  I let their ways define whether or not I fit into their category.

It’s like if someone wears a certain type of clothing and they listen to a certain type of music, I wouldn’t put myself into the same category as they are unless I did the exact same thing.  But honestly, emo comes out in different ways.  You don’t have to wear only skin tight jeans to be emo.  I love emo music but most would not describe me that way because I love baggy jeans.

And this is my issue.  I used to look down on people who did the things in the 1st paragraph because they were all over the place.  But what I have realized is that I am all over the place all the time.  They decided to spread it out a little and have a little bit of focus to their things.  I act like a sprinkler and am reading 5 to 8 books at any one time.  Look in my sweet messenger bag if you see me in public.

I’m not saying either of those things are wrong but I looked at someone different from me and judged them.  When I had those same issues differently.  I believe that this is one of those instances where I was looking at the speck in their eyes when I had a hundred different specks in mine (I didn’t have enough focus to have a plank but I do have tons of particles in there).  All this is metaphorical of course but emo comes out in different ways.

Leave a Reply

