Success is realizing who we are

All my life has been leading to a moment in time where I become all that God made for me.

There have been things in my life that I have failed at.  Not just because I was not good at something but because I was doing something (I might have been good at) outside of my calling.

We aren’t made to do everything we can do.  Think of the Tower of Babel (Genesis 11).  The people had the power to build a tower to the heavens but God did not will that for them.  That was not their calling.  They were sinning against God because they wanted to make a name for themselves.

This makes me think of all the business books that I have read.  Each of them say that one of the great traits of a leader is to find out what he is supposed to do.  Because if you know what you are supposed to do, you won’t do everything under the sun.  Once you get that, you will have a to don’t list (things that you simply won’t do because they are outside of, what I call, your calling).

It is only when we come to see God for who He is that we can begin to see who we are.  In Jeremiah 24:7, God says,

I will give them a heart to know that I am the Lord, and they shall be my people and I will be their God, for they shall return to me with their whole heart.

This is why we must come to Him for success.  Read that verse again.  God wants us to know Him (to see Him) and then we will be His people and He’ll be our God.  It starts with a glance at Him.  We can’t keep looking to ourselves for the answer.  He is the answer.  In all things.

And if we continue to focus on all the things we wish to do with our lives, we will be like chickens with our heads cut off.  We won’t really be doing anything worthwhile because we will be doing everything.

So today, stop focusing on all that you can do.  Focus only on what He is wanting you to do.  If you do this, I promise you that you will be fulfilled and satisfied.

It just starts with a glance.  And then success will continue with realizing who we are.
In Him.

Leave a Reply

