Overnight success

I have always hated the idea of an overnight success.  When I was a kid, it used to frustrate me to no end but now I realize that there is no such thing in existence.  AN overnight success is simply a way of saying someone was finally discovered.  Finally, after all these years.

I read almost anything that Seth Godin writes and I was reading his weekly (or so?) email newsletter the other week and he said this in it:

It’s easy to look at the results of viral sensations and marvel at how quickly they went from zero to many. Most of the time, it’s not quick at all–it’s the result of years of groundwork followed by persistent attempts to speak up.”

That is what I want my life to be.  I want to see results that are years in the making.  If I have overnight success (which as I said above doesn’t exist), I will not cherish all that God wants to do through me.  But I have pour myself into something for years, the results will be that much more special.

However, I know that I must keep working my tail if I want to see great results.

Success is truly “the result of years of groundwork followed by persistent attempts to speak up.”  If we want to see things come to fruition, we must be willing to do all we can to not only lay the foundation for what we’re doing but also continue to spread the word about it.  There are a ton of products that are probably amazing but no one has ever heard of them.

So let’s do we can to make the things that God wants us to make but let’s also spread the word in every way we can.

Leave a Reply

