Passion=downfall

I am a history buff so when I discovered all these shows on Netflix such as Decoded with Brad Meltzer, I was hooked almost immediately.  And that’s the sad thing.  I bet you have heard the business world saying: your greatest strength can be your greatest weakness.

I am realizing that your greatest passion can also be your greatest downfall.  When I say that, I mean that the obsession that you have can destroy you, if left unchecked.  It could be a good obsession such as a hobby like playing guitar.  It can even be something horrendous like killing ants with a magnifying glass.

Or it could even be your ministry.

And this is what scares me so much because I don’t want to add myself to the countless others who were so focused on “their ministry” that they forfeited their family.

As an example, if I wanted to, I could spend all day watching videos on Netflix about history and honestly, I justify that as being better than wasting hours watching reality TV because I’m learning something.  But my passion can ultimately lead me to miss the calling God has on my life as a father and husband.

So what area of passion do you spend a screwed-up amount of time on?  And how can you fix it to focus on the places God has placed you at right now?

Leave a Reply

