Back to the Future

I believe I am actually one of the few that actually love remakes.  Not all of them, mind you. But a lot of them I am a big fan of.  However, movies from the 1980s are my favorites.

Except when I heard that Hollywood (whoever that might be, I’m not sure) might be re-doing Back to the Future.

Back to the Future is the ultimate ’80s movie to me.  Michael J. Fox is actually my favorite actor.  I can’t even tell you why but I just have always loved his movies.

And to desecrate this classic would be a travesty.

Because of this, I just want to say that sometimes, we shouldn’t reinvent the wheel.  Just let some things stay classic and not redo them.  Star Wars comes to mind as another example.

New is not always better.  Sometimes the wheel is perfect as it is.  So as leaders, let’s focus on what we can add to the wheel and not get bogged down in the basics.

One thought on “Back to the Future

  1. I wholeheartedly agree with you, Jason. I cannot think of one remake that outdid the original. I mean, some things can be improved upon (Visual effects, a certain actor, etc.). But at the end of the day, nothing can compete with the original. The “True Grit” redo had a better actress as the young main female, and some good music, but nothing beats the John Wayne classic!

    They’ve got a remake of “Total Recall,” with Colin Farrell (Who just did the remake of “Fright Night!”) in the Arnold Schwarzenegger role. The teaser clip I saw looks interesting. Might go and see it.

    I’m currently keeping up with any word coming out on a remake of one of my all-time favorite films from 1986, “Highlander.” It’s a movie I think was great, and a remake would have a bigger budget, and one of the same producers (the other died a few years back), but can they really match the original with Christopher Lambert and Sean Connery (Or, as people love to point out, a Frenchman playing a Scotsman, and a Scotsman playing a Spanish-Egyptian! :P).

    Frank Miller said it best: Don’t remake good movies; take bad ones, and do them better!

    “Back to the Future” shouldn’t even be touched. Period! If anything, they should do what Michael J. Fox wants to do: a fourth movie in the series!

    God bless!

Leave a Reply

