Bad news

Vickie and I received some bad news last week that will greatly effect our finances and we are so saddened by it.  I am not going to go into details about it but everything is okay and we are trusting God more because of it.  And this is why I wanted to write this post because we will all face bad news at some point in our lives.

I have come to realize just over this past week that God works through the bad news.  Sometimes even more so than through the good.  Here are some things that I am learning:

  1. Bad news brings us back to reality.
    This is the case because bad news always makes things sink in.  I have had many times in my life where I was unable to process something until I was given the harsh reality of what I was truly facing.  An example would have to be the fact that when I was college, I was not doing well in anthropology until I got a D- on a test.  Only when that bad news hit did I realize how much I needed to step into gear my studying and really focus in on my future.
    Although, our present circumstances were not caused by anything on our part, it did make us look at reality a little bit differently.  It truly helped us realize just how bad some people have it in this city.  We know people who have lost their jobs and God has been with them.  So we are trusting that He will continue to be in us and with us too.
  2. Bad news shows us what we truly have to be grateful for.
    Because of what we are missing, we are getting a greater glimpse of what we truly have already.  We don’t have to focus on the bad because of all the good that God has given us.  This is something that I have tried to do for the past couple years by writing down in my journal about all the things that I am grateful for.  And honestly, the past few months have been hard for me and when I look back and realize that I have not been consistent with keeping up with my gratitude prayers, I understand a little bit deeper the point of praising God.
  3. Bad news helps us realize how truly good the good news is.
    There are so many things in this world that could leave us stuck in bed for days at a time because the bad seems to outweigh the good by a ton.  But what God has been showing me the past few years is that He has a plan and a purpose for each of us.  And no matter how bad things look, it will get better as we learn to trust Him.  As my favorite movie, the Dark Knight, says, “The night is darkest just before the dawn.” And I am seeing that more and more each day.
    We realize just how much God has given us because of the bad things that keep us away from Him.  People have asked me in the past, “why does God allow bad things to happen to good people?”  And I am just now starting to see that maybe those things are there because we need to be in the dark to see the light.  That’s where the light is most brightest.  This is why I believe that those who are at the end of the rope or the bottom of the line are about to experience a huge breakthrough in their lives.  They have given up on all other roads and realize that only God can see them through it.

I hope that you don’t get bad news this week.  But if you do, hopefully you will be better because of it.

One thought on “Bad news

Leave a Reply

