Contentment v. pushing forward

I’ve recently been struggling with the idea of being content vs. pushing forward.  And it doesn’t help that the answers I get from people are usually shared with the pious ideal that I should trust God (as if that translates to reality definitively).

I do think God wants us to be content in Him and trust that He has our back completely but my issue has more to do with doing what God has called me to.  Should I just rest on my laurels and trust that God will open whichever door He chooses as I walk casually through life, resting in the Lord?

Or does God want me to bum-rush the door and kick it in with a violent tenancity that screams out, “Thus says the Lord?”

I am at this place in my life where I’m editing down the things I want to do, just as Jon Acuff instructs me to, until I find the right thing to pursue with my life.  But I can’t help but feel this push to be content with what I have.

Yet I do not wish to become complacent.  So I stand at the precipice trying to embrace whichever path is best.

And the only conclusion I have come up with is to just thank God for what He has given me and then to violently kick down whatever door I want to run through.  To not let anything stand in my way and to embrace it all as the beautiful journey that I’m able to enjoy.

I hope that helps you because it is truly better than waiting for something to happen to me.

2 thoughts on “Contentment v. pushing forward

  1. I like your take on this subject Jason. Resting in God does not mean we all of the sudden adopt a laid back easy come easy go mentality. Those who wait on the Lord shall renew their strength. They will run and not grow weary, walk and not faint. To wait on God is to rest in Him. To rest in Him is to trust in Him, and trust is the demonstration of Faith. This invigorates us with fresh power that allows us to run wildly towards our dreams, bum-rush the doors, and never grow tired or weary in the process.

    “Come to me all who are weak and weary,” Jesus says, “and I will give you rest.” And how does He give us rest? He says, “Take my yoke upon you, for my yoke is easy and my burden is like.” A yoke is put around a pair of oxen so that they are joined in unison for the task they have been prepared to do. It keeps them on a straight path, focused in the direction they need to go.

    What is the yoke of Jesus? It is His identity as the Son of His Father. His identity determined His destiny, and when we know who we are, we know what we have to do, because who we are determines what we do. And when we do what we were made to do, our work no longer wearies us; instead, it brings us vigor and a full sense of satisfaction. This is why Christ’s yolk is “easy” and “light,” because He was doing what came naturally to Him. He was just being Himself.

    So in essence Jesus is telling us to take off the yoke of slavery which has us always “doing” for God and never really “knowing” Him (and eternal life is to know Him); take off the yoke of orphanhood which has us afraid of God’s rejection and makes us feel as if we need to beg for scraps at His table, that we have to take care of ourselves because we are alone; and instead, take upon or share His own yoke, the yoke of sonship, the yoke of adoption into the family of God, whereupon we will not only discover who God is and how much He passionately loves and practically cares for us, but we will also discover who we are and be able to walk and act in the freedom of who we were created to be…Beloved children and heirs of the King of Kings.

    As a result of this we will find abundant rest for our souls because we will finally feel safe in the assurance that we are home in the heart of God and free to be and do who and what we want to be and do. Then we will bum-rush the doors of our destiny with great joy because it will be fun because we will be doing what we want to do because that is what we were made to do. And we will “rise up with wings like eagles, run and not grow weary, walk and not faint.” 😀

Leave a Reply

