Anticipation

There have been many times in my life where I have had the feelings of Christmas morning re-enacted.  Moments of anticipation that could not be quenched until satisfied by getting what I desired.

Moments like waiting for the next Harry Potter book to come out.  Or moments waiting for the new Man of Steel movie to come out.  Or moments like waiting for the new season of Arrested Development to start streaming on Netflix.

These moments come few and far between for most people but it seems as if I get really excited about something coming out once a month, at least.

And sadly, most of the time, these events don’t leave me satisfied but desperately, leave me longing for more.  That is probably the case of Arrested Development, at least up to 10 episodes into season 4 but definitely not the case for the Harry Potter series, movies or books.

I honestly don’t know the point to all this because I don’t really have a way to redeem these   desires other than to ignore until I long for more.

So my point in all this is to ask, what are you longing for?  Or looking forward to coming out next?

4 thoughts on “Anticipation

  1. Like you, I am also looking forward to the release of the next Superman film, as well as the next film in “The Hobbit” trilogy. There are also a number of historical books and films that I cannot wait to look at!

    But there are days now where I long for the return of our Blessed Savior, and that moment when we shall “meet with the Lord in the air, and so shall we ever be with the Lord.” Seeing everything that is going on in the world, it’s hard not to see the signs that His return may be soon.

    • Man of Steel looks amazing. Friday can’t get here soon enough. But nothing can live up to my anticipation for meeting Jesus face-to-face. There are definitely signs of it right now and increasingly as each day draws near. I am just praying that God can use me to help others “see the light”.

    • My wife and I have already planned to go see Despicable Me 2 with our almost-3 year old son. He loves the first one.

Leave a Reply

