If you were rich, what would you do?

What would you do if money were no object?

Earlier this month, an 84-year old lady, won the lottery.  In fact, Jimmy Fallon summed it up so nicely through Twitter,

An 84 year-old Florida woman won the $590 million Powerball. Other Floridians were like, “Figures it would go to some kid.”

This lottery, like so many before it, got me thinking.  This time I wasn’t thinking about how she would be broke within 5 years like half of the people but I was thinking whether or not she would live that differently.

I am 29 years old and I am pretty set in my ways.  I cannot imagine being 84 years old set in your ways.  For some reason, I don’t see a grandmother going on a shopping splurge.  My grandmother would never have done that so it doesn’t register in my brain.  But if she even could, would she?

So my question still stands, if you had all the money in the world you could ever dream of, what would you be doing?

I know a guy who would become a golfer full time.  That is all he would do.  I know some who would go play music and bypass the whole music industry to release an album.  I know some comedians who would buy a comedy club and just headline every night while others came on before them.  I also know that the guy from the movie Garden State, who sold a new type of velcro to the government, had all the money he could ever dream of and was bored out of his mind.

But if I had to ask myself, I can’t give a straight-forward answer and it is something I am working toward.  I am certainly narrowing it down a lot more than previously but my only answer would be that I would write.

I would read a ton and write a ton.  So because of that answer, I’m doing more of both of those.  I do still love music and mentoring others and speaking but I feel like the greatest impact I can have is by writing and thinking through some of the issues I care about.  And it is so freeing to put that on paper (or screen).

So let me ask you and I sincerely want to know so please respond:
What would you do if money were no object?

Leave a Reply

