The realm of possibilities

In the realm of possibilities, I could be an author.  Or I could be a pastor.  Or I could be a worship leader writing songs that define a nation.  Or I could work in college ministry.  Or I could lead a youth group.  Or just be a small group leader and volunteer at my church while teaching music or some creative writing thing. 

My future could be defined by any of those things.  And that’s my problem. 

I simply have too many options to choose from.  And it is getting to me because I read books that say, “look at what keeps you up at night and then you’ll find what you’re made to do”.  Or “look at what you have loved doing since you were a kid and go do that”.  Or “just find a way to make money doing what you love.”

Those are great quotes for most people but I have so many interests and so many things I love doing that I can’t seem to narrow it down very well.  I know that I don’t want to spread myself thin which can be so easy for me but narrowing down is just so hard. 

And here’s another thing I can’t seem to find an answer for:  I don’t have a problem sleeping at night. If I forced myself to say something, I would have to say I can stay up late reading or watching tv or listening to music or talking with my wife.  The thing that keeps me up at night is probably just the simple act of being restored and refreshed by engaging in something.  Not necessarily creating something. 

I know this is all weird for you to be reading but I just wanted to let you in on my world and to see if any of you can relate.

Leave a Reply

