Worst word in existence

This week I want to write about the worst word in existence. The word that I’ve always feared more than any other. It is a word that I believe if I were set free to explore and pursue, my life would be drastically changed.
It is a word that sadly has been absent a lot of my life. A word that never fully grabbed ahold of me.
A little backstory and then I’ll let you know this cursed (emphatically pronounced “cur-sid”) word.

Last year, I read a book called One Word that will change your life and it wrecked me. Not at the moment I devoured it, but over the days and months after reading it. In the book, the authors want to help us switch our mindsets from thinking specific goals and focus on characteristics. Goals go away after they’re met. Characteristics change everything about a person and help define them from then on out. So they recommend picking a word you have always wanted to be described as and tackle it head on for that year. And for 2014, I picked the word Discipline.

It is not something anyone has described me as, to my recollection, but I’ve yearned to be better organized and disciplined in all areas of my life. In fact, I’ve made huge strides over the past few years and decided this year is the year I go into the promised land of discipline (whatever that means).

Back to what we were discussing. Discipline is not the word that scares me and not the word I mentioned above. The word that terrifies me is WORK. And its cursed nature goes all the way back to Genesis 3:17-19. Let’s read it now.

“And to Adam he said, ‘Because you have listened to the voice of your wife and have eaten of the tree of which I commanded you, You shall not eat of it, cursed is the ground because of you; in pain you shall eat of it all the days of your life; thorns and thistles it shall bring forth for you; and you shall eat the plants of the field, by the sweat of your face you shall eat bread, till you return to the ground, for out of it you were taken; for you are dust, and to dust you shall return.” (ESV)

This was at the fall where Adam and Eve at the forbidden fruit. The snake was cursed to be an enemy of man and to wander aimlessly on the face of the earth. Eve was cursed with painful childbirth and to be submissive to her husband who rules over her. Adam was cursed to work with much trial to eat. He had to work to get what he wanted. Literally sweating to get his food.

Before we get all theological, let me just say that I have always hated work. Hard work scares me. I’m not exactly sure why. It could be fear of failure or laziness. I honestly don’t know why but I yearn to enjoy work and I’ve made great strides toward getting joy out of it.

However, if you look at the first 7 days of all creation, you will see that God created the heavens and the earth and all therein and rejoiced over it. This is what we must get back to because sadly we are the ones who now see it as a curse but God saw it as a blessing. He’s all about changing mindsets which lead to faith and actions.

And this week, I want to explore it in my own unique way in a blog post series I’d like to call WORK: The original 4-letter word.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I did writing it.

Leave a Reply

