Work: the original 4-letter word (pt. 1)

Child stars have always fascinated me. Not just because I’ve always wanted to be one. Not just because they have a lot of potential for the future but sadly because most do not live up to their potential. Most live lives of great promise. Yet unfulfilled.

Great hope that never shines through.

Sadly, I think of Lindsay Lohan, Miley Cyrus, and Amanda Bynes when I see the phrase child stars and not child stars who become greater as the years go on. In fact, it is hard to name child actors who were successful later in life. The only one who comes to my mind right now is Leonardo Dicaprio and I’m sure they’re more but that’s all that comes to mind.

I do think my own hopes of others not succeeding leads to this but I’m also aware of my culture yearning to see train wrecks. We truly are a generation of rubbernecks, staring at the accident behind us more than the road ahead.

But child stars do fascinate me because they achieve great success early on and they seem to settle there. Always hoping for the same success but not with the same passion, heart, and drive. Yearning but not willing to work for it. Relying on talent and potential more than getting down and dirty. You see, child stars fascinate me because in many ways, they’re just a reflection of me. A sad glimpse into what I’ve become.

In my teens and 20’s, I had huge potential as a musician and even as a communicator, and I’ve realized I haven’t put in the long hours and hard work that will lead me to greatness. And I’m better now for realizing it because I’ve got a long road ahead and finally, I’ve hit a point where I know I must dig in and get my hands dirty.

Greatness is not defined by high hopes but by hard work. Remember, it’s not what you have that counts. Its what you do with what you have that matters.

Leave a Reply

