Work: The Original 4-letter word (pt. 4)

Over the past couple years, I’ve heard a few sermons with the words “can you dig it” somewhere in the midst. Some were from pastors trying to be cool but the first time I heard it was from Steven Furtick and it was unbelievable. And I’ve heard it many times since in the same light. And I’m not bringing this up to say that pastors steal from each other or culture or are a few years late to reference this. I guess you could say they’re 2000 and late. (Sorry I had to).

I’m simply passing it on because it says something to my soul. It hits me. It usually comes from 2 Kings, at least in reference to where God tells Elijah to dig ditches in order for water to come. What the pastors point out is that God has them pick up a shovel and get to work before expecting Him to just move. There are not many times that God creates something out of nothing. And usually He doesn’t expect us to do so but expects us to do something with what little we may have. So dig ditches.

But each time I’ve heard it, its gone deeper in my chest than before. And this past Sunday, I went to my sister-in-law’s church and it connected greatly with my present situation.

So many times, I’ve said I have great faith but I’m not willing to back it up and put down the remote or put down the Mt. Dew to go pursue the path I feel called and compelled to go down. Basically, my words aren’t backed by my actions. And this sermon is the time that I realized I do not deserve any of the things I want unless I work for them.

It’s only in the pursuing that you earn the right to get what you want to get. And without pursuing, you don’t deserve it and honestly, shouldn’t be given it. There are exceptions to this that God graces us with because grace ultimately is getting what we want but sometimes God just wants to show our faith by doing all we can to see something come about. Sometimes instead of just being given something, we just need the endurance until we obtain it. We’ll be better for it.

That’s why I would never do gastric surgery unless forced to because I wouldn’t earn the weight loss and will likely gain it all back sometime later. Its also why many people go broke within 5 years after winning the lottery. They didn’t earn it so they don’t deserve and likely will just waste it soon enough because they have no idea how to maintain it. That’s also why athletes waste their lives after playing sports because they achieved stardom so easily and don’t know what to do with.

I like the crockpot way of cooking more than the microwave because you get time to savor the journey more. Our culture is all about now when sometimes it is best to let things simmer for awhile.

Then what really all this hit home was when I read 2 Thessalonians 3:6-15. Verse 10 really got me: “If anyone is not willing to work, let him not eat.” Paul also goes on to say, “Take not of that person, and have nothing to do with him, that he may be ashamed. Do not regard him as an enemy but warn him as a brother.” (2 Thess. 3:14-15)

If we want the things we want, we must prove it by working toward them. Not just prove it to others but to God and really to ourselves.

I have a dream to be in worship ministry full time and to devote my life to teaching this generation how to worship. I want to do this through writing songs and books as well as having a platform to influence many throughout the world.

But I won’t deserve it, and I’ll likely lose it fast, if I don’t work my tail off to obtain it.

So here’s my persepective on WORK to sum up my thoughts this week:

1) Don’t settle and be just a child star. Continue to improve.
2) Let this year be greater than the last but save the best for last while continuing to improve and go out on top.
3) Let LAZY be the new 4-letter and avoid it at all costs.
4) Go get what you want with everything you have.
5) Earn the influence you have by working as hard as you can for as long as you can.

What helps you to work harder and smarter? Please share any resources you have that would benefit others. See you next week.

Leave a Reply

