Valentine’s Day

Valentine’s Day has always been a day I have not enjoyed. Some of it stems from the fact that I believe it was a made-up holiday by those infamous Hallmark people. The ones who always smile and always seem to spout off joyous quotes that rhyme.

I hate those people.

It is not the happy, fake people that have made me hate it. And it is not because I always seemed to have the worst girlfriends this time of year. The ones who weren’t happy with anything I could give them.

No teddy bear, no flowers, no jewelry could satisfy them. (I almost wrote can instead of could. Not sure why that is. Only one woman for me. Love you, dearest Victoria. Sorry for the slip-up with words.)

But even though I do believe it was a made-up holiday (I share Joseph Gordon-Levitt’s character’s sentiments for this day like in his movie 500 Days of Summer).

I feel that there is some merit to Valentine’s Day. It is a day set aside for love. No other day holds this claim and that’s why it is special.

I guess.

Well, I am going to use it to share my love today for my beautiful bride of 4 years. Wow, who knew that time would fly this fast. You see, my wife and I have shared some great moments. Some tough. Some ecstatic. All in all, I wouldn’t want anyone else on this journey with me.

Here’s to you, baby. I hope your day is bright and that that 14″ snow we just received leaves you satisfied. Because no gift I can give will live up to all that I feel for you.

I love you.

Leave a Reply

