Happiness

The secret to happiness has always been a pursuit for man throughout generations.

At least that’s what we’ve been told.

I’ve been thinking about this for a little bit recently because honestly I look at other cultures throughout history and I don’t see that as their primary motivation.

In America, surely people desire to be happy more than anything else. We desire to have the car we want. Watch the show we want. Listen to the music we want. All based on the desire of happiness.

And I am getting sick of it. It makes me cringe because the more I get to the center of my desires, the more I crave just a little bit more. A little bit more of that ever-fading mirage.

I think that we may be pursuing our own things much more deeply than pursuing what is our God-given pursuit. To please Him above all else and to share Him with the world.

I don’t think our happiness is a bad pursuit. I just believe that we are searching for ours above the happiness of others.

We should just shift our focus from ourselves to others. Outside rather than inward focused.

So pursue happiness but don’t neglect others in that pursuit.

2 thoughts on “Happiness

Leave a Reply

