Overwhelmed?

Sometimes I get overwhelmed. Oh, you too?

Well I’m learning a simple truth that is changing everything for me. Here it is:

Don’t be. Because you don’t have to. You can let things go. You can work hard and then give all the results up to God. It is possible.

But as we all know, it is not easy. Because life weighs on you. The choices you make don’t turn out perfect because many things (most?) are out of our hands.  And sometimes we don’t have everything we need to do all that we want.

This simple but difficult thought came to me when I was trying to do too much working out and then got burnt out and stopped lifting weights and doing cardio for a short while. But my insight came specifically when reading a wonderful self-help book, The Nerdist Way, by Chris Hardwick.

In the book, Hardwick, whom I was lucky to meet late last year at his show in Durham, has a wonderful section on working out.  It is not a how-to workout section of this book per se but it does contain some great insights.  And not overdoing it is a key philosophy.  In fact, at one point, he recommends doing more with lighter weights and for some reason, the insight above just clicked with me.

Don’t overdo it with the weights.  Focus on the little you can do and work it till you can’t possibly work it anymore.  He gave like 25 different things you can do with weights less than 25 pounds.

And then I was watching QVC, as you should sometimes do when bored late at night, and they were plugging the Total Gym workout system and they were describing how many moves you can do on this machine.

So my advice is do what you can with what you have.  And then let the other things fall by the wayside.  I know that this is not the end-all be-all for being overwhelmed but it has greatly improved my insight on the power of starting to stop worrying about the things you can’t control.

 

Leave a Reply

